declutter your mind

Think about your home. How does it make you feel?

Peaceful? Happy? Calm? Restful?

Or stressed out? Frustrated? Depressed?

Why is that?

For me, I have rooms and walls in my house that make me smile and feel calm every time I enter them or look at them. I call them my Happy Places and Happy Walls.

Here’s one such place – my livingroom.

Happy Place-livingroom 1

Happy Place-livingroom 2And another place – my calendar wall.

My Happy WallMore about how I created this calendar wall later.

Why do they invoke these feelings of calm and happiness?

I have other rooms in my house that make me feel crazy just thinking about them. And I mean crazy in a not so good way. They make me want to throw my hands up in the air and give up. They really stress me out.

Here’s one of the downstairs bedrooms:

cluttered room

And another bedroom:daughter trying to clean messy room legos, legos everywhere

Why do they invoke these feelings of frustration and stress?

My friends, the answer is simple.

Clutter. (crazy)

Or the lack of it. (calm)

My happy places and walls in my house are because they are places that are clutter-free. They are spaces where I’ve gotten rid of the excess clutter and things that I didn’t care about. They are clean and simple. They’re not fancy or expensive – just simple.

My stressful places are because they aren’t clean or organized. They’re filled with clutter – too much stuff. They totally stress me out and make me feel unhappy.

And you know what? It stressed out the entire family.

I’m on a mission to make my entire house a happy place. I know it won’t be easy because sometimes getting rid of clutter isn’t easy.

Why is that? I think I may have some answers.

How much of the clutter in our homes is because we’re not willing to part with it?

Think about that for a minute. Or two. Or a day or two.

In fact, I want you to think about that for even longer.

And I don’t care to hear the reasons/excuses why we keep the clutter. “But my aunt gave me that” or “it’s a family heirloom” or “I paid a lot of money for that” or “it’s because I have kids, or a husband, or a roommate, etc” or whatever. Those excuses are just that – excuses.

Our clutter doesn’t grab us when we want to throw it away or get rid of it. It doesn’t scream at us as we toss it into the garbage or the recycle bin. It can’t physically make us keep it in our lives.

No, our mind does all of that for us. And we buy into it.

“Have nothing in your house you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful.” William Morris

How does that statement make you feel?

It sounds absolutely divine to me. Just divine. It sounds like a haven, a place of rest, a calm place. A happy place.

Let’s take the next few days or a week or so to look at our homes differently. And I’m only talking about our stuff here, folks. I’m not talking about big home remodel or makeovers.

As you walk around your home doing your normal daily stuff, notice what makes you happy and what doesn’t. Make mental notes. If you want to throw something away immediately, go for it. But it’s not necessary yet.

Friends, let’s unclutter our minds. Let’s prepare to let this stuff go. Let’s make our homes places of happiness, only filled with those things that William Morris mentions.

It’s entirely possible.

Think about it.

About organizedbyjenn

Busy wife and mother of 7 children; grew up in Oregon, currently lives in Utah. Loves the outdoors, organizing, crafting, running, and eating chocolate
This entry was posted in Cleaning, Organizing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to declutter your mind

  1. Lorinda says:

    is it later yet? I need to hear about the calendar wall.

  2. Pingback: shop is open for business | organized by jenn

  3. Becky says:

    Jenn, your living room looks beautiful! You are so lucky to have the hardwood under your carpets :)

  4. Rebecca says:

    I love how your living room turned out. I thought you were going with a completely different color for the walls, but the blue is serene.

  5. Pingback: the perfect weather | organized by jenn

Leave a Reply

