time this

Let’s play a game. It’s a fun game and yes, it involves a timer. How did you guess?

It’s because you’re so smart! Or because my last 2 posts have been about timers. Or you’re just super smart!

K, not only is this a game, but this is Tip #2 for Timers.

I want you to time yourself doing the normal things you do, just to show you that things don’t take as long as you think they do. Case in point: my kids were complaining about doing the dishes. Poor things…they have no concept of life before dishwashers. You know, back when WE were the dishwashers.

Yep. Back in the good ‘ole days when humans did dishes.

So they were complaining and I pulled out my trusty timer and said, “Let’s just see how long it takes.” What do you know? They had that thing unloaded and dishes put away in 3 minutes!

3 minutes!! How often do we whine about things that really take no time at all?

Making my bed: 4 minutes. And that includes all the decorative pillows I put on top. Folding a load of laundry: 5 minutes. Putting it away: 5 minutes or less! I even timed how long it took me to put my make-up on because I didn’t want to do it and I thought it would take forever. 8 minutes. Why am I complaining about 8 minutes of my life?

So I challenge you to a game of timing things. I want to hear how long it took you to do normal, everyday tasks. I’d also love to hear how long you THOUGHT it would take you before you actually timed yourself. I think you’ll be pleasantly surprised. Post a comment and let’s see how much fun we have doing this!

Let’s the games begin!

About organizedbyjenn

Busy wife and mother of 7 children; grew up in Oregon, currently lives in Utah. Loves the outdoors, organizing, crafting, running, and eating chocolate
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to time this

  1. Heidi says:

    I love this post! I need to start timing myself…and my husband for that matter. This will really be an eye opener!

  2. Lori says:

    I need to do this at work!! Great idea!

  3. Noel says:

    Jenn,

    This is a great idea. I really liked the examples you shared. How often do I put something off, because I “don’t have time” or the energy it will take. Really, it is a matter of just doing the work and enjoying the results.

    Noel

Leave a Reply

