it’s all in the details

Howdy! Are you enjoying your summer? Have any of you tried making this school book yet?

Well, what’s your problem? Get on it, will ya?

Oh . . . you want more details? Haven’t I shared enough? No?!

Fine. You twisted my arm. But then we’ve got to move on to other things, because summer is flying by and there’s so much to discuss. But because you want details, this is going to be long. But it’s worth it.

#1. First gather the following supplies: 1 piece of white cardstock, plain white printer paper, double-sided tape, photo corners (I like the clear ones best), paper cutter or scissors and stapler remover.

Go ahead . . . I’ll wait. I’m patient that way. I’s gots kids. I know  a little about patience. But don’t test mine or you might get it!

#2. The piece of cardstock is for your title page; the cover. I designed mine on the computer but you can do it however you want. You can even get your child to do it. Be creative! But remember, this is supposed to be easy and fast. Don’t forget to include the school year, the name of the school and the teacher’s name. All fun stuff to remember.

#3. Organize the papers you and your child have decided to keep. For example, do you want their artwork 1st, or in the middle or last? Where do you want their math. I usually let my kids decide this one because I don’t really care. There’s no right or wrong order here. Just keep it simple.

#4. Now you need to make sure all their papers will fit in this book. If they’re too big, cut it down to size. You don’t want papers sticking out on all sides or it won’t sit neatly on the shelf where you’ll be displaying this beauty.

#5. Some papers are already the perfect size. You won’t need to tape these down on the printer paper. Just stick them in there. The only papers (or pictures) you need to tape down or put in photo corners are the ones that are smaller than 8 1/2 x 11. That’s what the printer paper is for; it’s the background.

Case in point here. Look at the above picture. The papers on the left are smaller than 8 1/2 x 11. So I taped those ones down onto the printer paper. That page is now done.

Now look at the right hand side. It’s already the same size as the printer paper, so I just stuck it in there. No tape or photo corners needed!

#6. Start either taping down the papers onto the white printer paper, or use the photo corners if it’s something you’ll want to take out and look at or if it’s got some important information on the back side.

#7. Once you’ve got everything taped down and in the order you like, take it to your local copy shop (no, not coffee shop. They’ll just look at you weird) and ask them to bind it for you in a spiral book. I ask for a clear plastic cover and a cover for the back as well. Just for protection.

‘Cause I’m all about protection when it comes to kids’ stuff.

And then guess what?

You’re done!

Yes. Really! Go celebrate! Put your feet up and bribe or pay your children to rub your feet.

Psst: don’t forget that I have more ideas on how to make this even easier throughout the school year so when the end of the year comes, you’re not faced with a humungeous pile of papers and projects. But we’ll talk about that as school gets closer.

But remind me. I might just forget. And then you’ll be in suspense all year. And I’ll feel terrible.

About organizedbyjenn

Busy wife and mother of 7 children; grew up in Oregon, currently lives in Utah. Loves the outdoors, organizing, crafting, running, and eating chocolate
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to it’s all in the details

  1. Noel says:

    Jenn, great how to on the school book. I think I will let my kids do it for a summer project – – and it gets the piles of papers out of their box. Thanks

    • I think that’s an awesome idea. I love to let my kids sort of take charge & decide (within reason) which papers they want to keep & which ones to throw away. They know what’s meaningful to them. You’ll have to send me pictures & let me know how it goes!

  2. Crystal Allred says:

    I am so excited about these school books. I just have a question, what are photo corners and where do I get them?
    Thanks Jenn
    crystal

    • Great question! I guess I assumed that everyone knew what photo corners are because I’ve been using them for years. So if you’re wondering what the heck they are, do a google search on photo corners & you’ll get lots of links that will show you exactly what I’m talking about. They run from pretty simple to fancy & ornate. For my school books I prefer the clear ones, but you can use whatever you want for yours. Have fun!

  3. Pingback: {RIDICULOUS} | organized by jenn

  4. Pingback: {CLASSIC EXAMPLE} | organized by jenn

Leave a Reply

