grease tip

Not from the movie. Sorry. Don’t have any tips about that.

And not from working on cars, either. Although I have a GREAT picture of my husband working on his 1966 Mustang back in the day when it was our only car. I’ll post that picture later. Talk about grease!

But what I really want to talk about today is greasing your pans. Baking pans. Not oil pans, drip pans or bed pans.

Sorry, that was gross. Forgive me.

When I make homemade bread, I like to use shortening to grease my pans. Not a spray of some kind, although I’m sure that would work fine. I like to rub it in, smear it around & goop it on. I’m kind of old-fashioned that way.

I used to grab a new napkin every time I greased my pans. And I make bread several times a week! That would add up to a lot of napkins. 156 a year, to be precise, assuming I made bread 3x a week. And how in the world is that going to go over with all the “go green” that everyone is talking about these days? Imagine how many trees I’m killing just using up all those napkins! The horror of it all!

Really, though. This tip is actually more of a time saver than anything else. Sorry trees. And I love trees. I grew up on Oregon. Love trees.

I got this tip from some very seasoned women who know how to save a buck (or a tree) and who know how to save time.

So this is it: prepare yourself, for it’s very simple.

Leave the napkin in the can to use the next time.

What? That’s it.

Yep, that’s it.

Here’s a picture just in case you think it’s too simple:

When you’re ready to grease your pans, the napkin is already in there! And since I don’t really use my shortening for anything else, (I buy the shortening bars for baking recipes), there’s no harm in having the napkin in there. No one has died yet. And my bread comes out tasting scrumptious!

No more searching for napkins in which to grease your pans. Imagine how much more enjoyable your life will be now!

You’re welcome.

About organizedbyjenn

Busy wife and mother of 7 children; grew up in Oregon, currently lives in Utah. Loves the outdoors, organizing, crafting, running, and eating chocolate
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

