caught off guard

by this little guy . . .

Meet my 6th child, Luke. Isn’t he adorable?

I think so, too.

But he caught me off guard by coming 3 1/2 weeks early.

I wasn’t ready. I had a million things on my “to do before baby comes” list that were scheduled to be completed in the next couple of days.

But ready or not, he was coming. And no amount of throwing fits about it or standing there paralyzed were going to change that fact. So instead I gathered a few last-minute items, called my sister over to watch the other kids, and headed to the hospital with my husband.

And after all the excitement was over, I got to thinking . . . so many things catch us off guard in life. We can throw temper tantrums, whine or stand there paralyzed and do nothing. But what good does that do?

And what the heck does that have to do with organizing?

Bear with me, here.

When it comes to organizing or decluttering there’s a certain mentality that keeps us from doing anything at all. We don’t start an organizing project because we think don’t have enough time, enough money, enough help or enough (fill in the blank here). OR, things in life keeping popping up and we think we can’t handle one more thing, think about one more thing let alone start in on that pile of bills staring us in the face. OR, we just feel paralyzed because there’s so much to do. So we do nothing. And our piles get bigger. And our stress mounts.

Things don’t go as planned. Or in other words, they catch us off guard.

And let’s get real: life will always catch us off guard; it rarely goes as planned, wouldn’t you agree? And since that’s the case, we have to stop making excuses and just dig in!

And that can be hard to do. Hmmm . . . time for a little analogy here: labor is hard, but the result is a precious little bundle and it’s so worth it! We would never get the little bundle if we didn’t go through the labor. (analogy over)

Sorry men . . . you’ll have to come up with your own analogy on this one.

So how do we overcome this? How do we not let life’s surprises keep us from getting organized?

It really is simple. So simple that some of you may turn your noses up in the air and scoff. (and I don’t want to hear about it)

We just have to get to work and stop making excuses. And the big surprise?

USE YOUR TIMER! (You all knew I would say that, didn’t you?)

On days where I feel like my head is spinning, I don’t know what to do and I feel like I’ve accomplished nothing, it’s usually because I haven’t used my timer.

Seriously.

So today, no matter what catches you off guard, set your timer and get to work!

Unless, of course, you’re in labor. Then you’re off the hook for a little while.

About organizedbyjenn

Busy wife and mother of 7 children; grew up in Oregon, currently lives in Utah. Loves the outdoors, organizing, crafting, running, and eating chocolate
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

