keeping track

As many of your children are heading back to school (some of you started yesterday), we still have 2 weeks left of summer vacation here, and I really need it. Especially because I have a newborn hanging out with me for most of the day.

But I’m loving it.

Aren’t those feet precious?!

AND I’m trying to balance the newborn phase with my other kids needs while simultaneously trying to keep in mind things that will make going back to school easier. Not such an easy task.

Because I’d rather just think about my cutie pie Luke.

Kids? What other kids? I have more than just Luke?

Now don’t go call child services on me because I’m not neglecting them. I promise. They have plenty of movies, popcorn, cereal and macaroni and cheese. They’re totally fine.

My point is to let you know that the next several posts will probably be a mix of newborn baby tips and tricks AND back to school ideas as well.

I’m versatile like that.

So let’s get started.

This one is all about nursing. Don’t freak out! I will NOT be posting pictures of this process, nor will I tell you how to nurse. Because that’s not my place. And really, this can also apply to the bottle-fed baby as well. I’m very familiar with both.

This has more to do with remembering which side you last fed the baby on. How does this apply to the bottle-fed baby? Well, even my children that were bottle-fed were switched from side to side. Sometimes their head was on my left and sometimes on my right. I mean, we don’t want them to get milk-logged on one side of the brain now, do we?

I prefer them to be equally milk-logged on both sides of the brain.

So how do you remember what side you need to start on?

OK, maybe none of you have a problem with remembering. Lucky dogs! But I have a hard time keeping track of that sort of thing, especially when the last feeding was in the middle of the night and I can’t even remember my own name!

So this is what I do:

I wear a hair elastic on my wrist like a bracelet. And I move it back and forth between my wrists depending on what side I need to nurse on.

Is that brilliant or what? (please say yes)

Here’s a photo illustration below:

Now in this photo I’m also wearing 3 real bracelets. That’s for you fashion conscious gals who wouldn’t be caught dead wearing a hair elastic on your wrist. Weird! And I’m wearing 3 different ones to show you a couple of options: silver and gold.

I try to accommodate just about everyone here. I’m all about options.

Now keep in mind that your real bracelet should be something small, simple and pretty flat so it doesn’t dig into the back of your baby and cause horrible scarring.

I’m NOT all about scarring, especially the scarring of newborns. Teenagers, on the other hand . . .

Also, for the record, I don’t claim to take great pictures. So if you’re here to see great pictures, you’ll be sorely disappointed. Just focus on the content and all will be well.

So that’s it. Pretty simple. Now the trick is remembering to switch the bracelet back and forth! Hope this tip helps some of you. Let me know if it does.

Happy nursing or bottle feeding!

About organizedbyjenn

Busy wife and mother of 7 children; grew up in Oregon, currently lives in Utah. Loves the outdoors, organizing, crafting, running, and eating chocolate
This entry was posted in Babies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

