feeding time

Wow. The title of this makes it seem as if I’m about to go slop the hogs or feed the cows . . . or a whole bunch of moshi monsters! (ask my kids about those).

Or maybe just a ravenous baby.

Yeah, that’s it.

And I even have one of those. How convenient.

So . . . your baby is hungry. You sit down in your comfy spot, start feeding the baby and the phone rings.

And your phone is on the counter in the kitchen. OR . . .

. . . you realize you’re thirsty.

And you left your water bottle in the fridge. OR . . .

. . . you remembered you wanted to finish that magazine because you’re in the middle of a great article on quantum physics.

What? You don’t like quantum physics?

Now, you have a couple of options here. You can (A) call one of your children in to get things for you, which might go something like this:

“Grant?”

“Yeah, Mom?”

“Will you bring me my water?”

(totally obedient child then brings in said water bottle)

“Thanks.” (child begins to walk away) “Oh wait. I forgot. Could you also bring me my phone?”

(slight annoyance from child) “Yeah.”

“Thanks.” (totally obedient child then brings in said phone, but with annoying facial expression)

“Oh wait. I forgot one more thing. Will you bring me that magazine that’s on my nightstand?”

“Mom!”

“I know. This is the last thing.” (totally obedient child then gets said magazine, but he’s bugged)

And that’s only if your child hears you, because chances are good that you’re upstairs and he’s downstairs. Or maybe your child is too young to understand your instructions. Or maybe this is your first child and your hubby is at work, so you’re home alone.

Or your second option (B) is to assemble a . . .

Nursing Basket!

You can call it what you want here. Even with my bottle-fed babies I called it a nursing basket. Just go with it.

So, what’s a nursing basket?

I’m so glad you asked.

A nursing basket is a small, portable container where you keep things that you need while feeding your baby. But it doesn’t need to be a basket. Get creative. You could use a pail, cleaning caddy, bag, whatever. It just needs to be portable and fit the things you need. Water? Check. Phone? Check. Chocolate? Check. Book? Check. Checkbook? Check. You get the idea. It makes feeding time more pleasant because you aren’t sitting there wishing you had (fill in the blank). It’s also nice if you are like me and feed your baby in different locations (like bedroom one time and family room another time) so you don’t have to juggle everything you’re trying to carry and risk dropping the most important thing of all — your baby!

This is mostly what I keep in mine: water, lanolin (the purple tube), book, mail to be opened, magazines, thank you cards, pen and timer. I forgot to add my lip balm, cell phone and tissue.

So, for those of you who are baby-feeding-people right now, what other things would you include in a nursing basket? And what kinds of containers do you use?

Gotta go. Baby’s hungry!

About organizedbyjenn

Busy wife and mother of 7 children; grew up in Oregon, currently lives in Utah. Loves the outdoors, organizing, crafting, running, and eating chocolate
This entry was posted in Babies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

