my system-part 1

LOVE this school paper system I’ve got going on here! It’s not perfect, but then what is? This system works for me. It sings to me, jives with my soul, clicks in my brain and just works.

Gotta love what works. Cling to it; never let it go.

Until it stops working. Then drop it like a newborn giraffe! (name that movie)

OK, here goes:

This is my 1st grader, Seth, holding a very large paper teddy bear. It’s not bulky (nor is it soft and cuddly), but it’s way too big to fit into his school book. Click here if you missed my post about the school books.

So I took a picture . . . the day he brought it home. I’m emphasizing that because I’ve gotten sidetracked in the past and thought I’d taken a picture of a project, when I really didn’t, and the project got thrown away and tears were shed because the child missed their project and we didn’t even have a picture of it. It was quite traumatizing.

So take a picture immediately. Then you won’t have to try to remember later.

And you can avoid some trauma. Unless you like trauma. And in that case, you might want to seek professional help.

Now I’m a super nice mom and let my children keep their big projects for a while.

 

They like to display them either in their bedroom or on these big magnet boards I painted and distressed. They can leave them up there until the boards are full or until another project takes its place. Sometimes my children just want to throw their projects away as soon as I’ve snapped the picture. Go with it. It obviously didn’t mean a whole lot to them and now you’ve got one less thing cluttering up your home.

Once a week I download my pictures onto my computer. Then I organize all the pictures of school projects in folders by the child’s name and then grade year. That way when it’s time to print them at the end of the school year, they’re all in the same place. I simply upload them to my favorite printing place (I love Costco) and move on to something else.

Once in a while my kids will come home with a 3D project. These get a little more attention. I snap pictures from different angles, but I also get out the video camera and record the child telling me about his/her project. It makes them feel all warm and fuzzy on the inside. And it also makes it easier to throw in the trash later!

I’m really not heartless, I promise.

Summary: Get used to taking pictures of your child’s projects. And get used to the idea of letting go. It’s OK, really. I mean, how many times have you pulled out your school projects your mom saved from your grade school days?

After initially getting the boxes from my mom and sifting through them when I got married, I haven’t looked at them since.

I’ve been married for 15 years.

About organizedbyjenn

Busy wife and mother of 7 children; grew up in Oregon, currently lives in Utah. Loves the outdoors, organizing, crafting, running, and eating chocolate
This entry was posted in Back to school, Organizing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to my system-part 1

  1. Becky says:

    Thanks for sharing all your organization tips, Jenn. I am in the process of making books out of all my kids old school papers. They were all in a file drawer (mostly organized already, amazingly enough) but a book is way better than a file. I decided to use 3 ring binders and paper protectors because that seems to work better for me. I am so excited to get things a little more organized around here.

  2. Pingback: {CLASSIC EXAMPLE} | organized by jenn

Leave a Reply

