my system-part 2

Here’s the next part of my simple system and I love it.

I have these:

They’re called wall files and I design and make them myself. And they are what makes me weep with joy whenever I look at them.

I wear waterproof mascara just for this very reason.

So every day after looking at my kids’ papers, I throw away what we don’t need (duplicate flyers, programs we’re not interested in, etc.). I add important reminders and dates to the calendar. And I take pictures of projects, (click here if you missed the post on that) then put the rest of their papers in their wall file. Done. No more mountains. No more paper cluttering up the countertops, kitchen tables and desks. LOVE it!

At the end of each week or every couple of weeks, I take their papers out, one child at a time, and lay them out on the couch.

Like this.

Then I let the child pick out 2-3 of his/her favorite papers. The rest go — you guessed it — in the trash!

And you know what? The kids don’t even bat an eye. They have their favorites, they have pictures, they’re content.

I then put their favorite papers back in their wall file to be saved for their school book that I make at the end of the year. I keep these papers separate from the papers that will come in next week by using either a folder or a bright-colored piece of paper. And I repeat this process throughout the school year.

If I find their wall file is getting too full, then they have too many papers and it’s time to sort through them again. Remember, you don’t want their school book to be inches and inches thick. It’s just a sample of their school year.

NOTE: If you have junior high and high school aged children, don’t throw away any papers until the semester or term is over! Many times an assignment comes up missing or is marked with the wrong grade. By keeping all the papers, you have proof of completion or a certain grade. Once the semester or term is over then toss, toss, toss!!!

The key is to make this a regular habit. Write it down or put it in your phone as a reminder if you have to. Whatever works for you.
 
Another key is to actually establish a place for their papers (like my wall files). A place that won’t allow you to pile more and more papers on top until they spill over onto the floor and get eaten by your dog, or worse, eaten by your 2-year-old!
 
Don’t ask me how I know this.
About organizedbyjenn

Busy wife and mother of 7 children; grew up in Oregon, currently lives in Utah. Loves the outdoors, organizing, crafting, running, and eating chocolate
This entry was posted in Back to school, Organizing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

