we’ve been elfed

Earlier this month, a super nice someone left some goodies on our doorstep.

Secretly.

Quietly.

They didn’t even knock. Or if they did, we weren’t home. Or maybe we didn’t hear it.

I went outside to throw something in the garbage can and sitting on our steps was a huge red stocking! It was filled with fun books for the kids and an envelope. Underneath the stocking was a plate of scrumptious muffins (I’d love the recipe), along with some cute handmade ornaments.

The outside of the envelope read Happy St. Nicholas Day!!! And inside the envelope was some money.

I’ve been trying to figure out who did this because I want to thank them.

But I know I won’t ever know. So I thought that I could thank them on my blog. You know, just in case 1 of the 2 people that read my blog happen to be the person who did this, or know the person who did this.

So, thank you so very much! You are very thoughtful and sweet.

Thank you.

As I’ve thought about this, I realized that the person deliberately wrote “Happy St. Nicholas Day” and not “Merry Christmas” or “Happy Holidays” or something else people usually say. So I googled it. And guess what? It’s a holiday celebrated in Europe on the 6th of December. Some also celebrate it in the United States.

Here’s what Wikipedia had to say about how it’s celebrated here: “As in other countries, many people in the United states celebrate a separate St Nicholas Day by putting their shoes outside their bedroom doors on the evening of Dec. 5th. St Nicholas then comes during the night. On the morning of Dec. 6th, those people will find their shoes filled with gifts and sugary treats. Widespread adoption of the tradition has spread among the German, Polish, Belgian and Dutch communities throughout the United States.”

And I believe our surprise was delivered on December 6th.

How fun is that? So thanks again Somebody, for the great surprise.

And Merry Christmas to all of you!

About organizedbyjenn

Busy wife and mother of 7 children; grew up in Oregon, currently lives in Utah. Loves the outdoors, organizing, crafting, running, and eating chocolate
This entry was posted in Holidays and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to we’ve been elfed

  1. Becky says:

    How sweet!

Leave a Reply

