picture your ornaments

Now for the camera and tripod.

This may or may not apply to you. I buy ornaments for everyone in my family each year, including myself, that sort of summarize what we’ve been up to that year. For example, when my son started playing the trumpet in junior high, his ornament that year was a trumpet. When my daughter was obsessed with dancing, her ornament was a ballerina.

You get the idea.

I know that a lot of people have the tradition of buying a new ornament every year. So that’s why I’m bringing this up.

Every year before I pack away our ornaments, I set up my camera and tripod and take pictures of the new ornaments hanging from the tree. Included in this process are ornaments the kids made at school, scouts, etc. The two ornaments pictured above are Noah’s (obsessed with horses) and Dana’s (is always making something crafty).

I plan on making a little ornament book with these. Each page will have not only the picture of the ornament, but the story behind why it was chosen or where it was made.

Should be fun.

So there you have it: the answer to why I get the camera and tripod out.

Sort of anti-climatic, wasn’t it?

About organizedbyjenn

Busy wife and mother of 7 children; grew up in Oregon, currently lives in Utah. Loves the outdoors, organizing, crafting, running, and eating chocolate
This entry was posted in Holidays, Organizing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to picture your ornaments

  1. Rebecca says:

    I always think I’m going to do that, cause it’s really a great idea. Plus then the kids can take these ornaments when they are on their own (at least that’s how I saw I saw it). The book idea is great too.

    • Jennifer Weber says:

      Yes-I plan on letting the kids take their ornaments once they’re on their own & married, too. Curtis & I had less than 5 ornaments on our 1st Christmas & had to go out & buy some. Thanks for posting a comment! Jenn

  2. Lorinda says:

    It makes for kind of hokey ornaments, but a few years back I got pictures of the family members during the year and then we cropped and glued and snipped and made an ornament for each of the members of the family. When you have 6 children, it makes for a messy looking tree, so if we continue this, we’re going to have to have 2 trees, but i kind of want to do that anyway. One with my pretty stuff on it and one with more personalized (hokey) ornaments.

    • Jennifer Weber says:

      Yep-I’ve got 6 kids, too & our tree is a jumble of all kinds of ornaments. I love it! It’s filled with great memories every time we decorate it for Christmas. Thanks for reading my blog. Jenn

  3. Lisa says:

    Those are a couple of really cute ornaments! Where do you shop for yours? I’ve enjoyed the Christmas Store at Gardner Village, but it’s tough for me to get there anymore…any suggestions? Thanks for the great organizing ideas. Love your blog!

    • Jennifer Weber says:

      I always check the Christmas store at Gardner Village first. Love that place! If I can’t find what I’m looking for there, then I go online & google what I want. I checked Gardner Village to see if you can shop online and you can! Go to http://www.gardnervillage.com then click on “The Village Christmas Shoppe” then click on “Village Christmas Shoppe Website”. From their website will be a red button that says “shop online now”. Click that & then scroll down a bit until you see their ornament section. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

