soaking clothes

I’m not here to tell you how to soak clothes.

OK, maybe I am.

But that’s not why I’m here today.

I’m here to share with you how I solved a little dilemma I call the no-working-sink-in-the-laundry-room dilemma.

I should be thankful I even have a laundry room, right? Although our laundry room is more like a laundry room/garage/storage room/pantry/kitchen-type place. And because it’s all of those above, it doesn’t look like any of them. Just a packed mess.

Anyway, back to soaking clothes.

Because my sink isn’t working in my laundry room/garage/storage room/pantry/kitchen-type place, I had to come up with a different way to soak stained clothes.

I can’t use the bathroom sink . . . unless I want toothpaste spit mixed in with my clothes plus who knows what else. (this is not my bathroom sink, by the way)

I can’t use the kitchen sink . . . unless I want bits of food swirling around with my clothes, buried underneath piles of dishes. (this is not my kitchen sink, by the way)

I can’t use the bathtub . . . unless I want the residue from my kids’ dirty bodies to add more stains to my clothes. (this is not my bathtub, by the way)

So what’s a girl to do?

Enter the giant bowl.

This bowl is so multi-purpose it’s not even funny. It’s a Thatsa bowl from Tupperware and I love it. I use it for all kinds of things.

And today it’s being used as a soaking sink.

It’s big enough to hold a few pieces of clothing at a time, but small enough that I can move it around to keep it out of the way while the clothes get a good soaking. (this is my kitchen sink, by the way)

Here it is on my kitchen counter. It’s out of the way for now. But if I have to move it, no problem.

Lovin’ it, I tell ya!

And then I don’t have to resort to the bathroom sink, kitchen sink or bathtub. I’ve done that before and it always ends up being a disaster.

What do you have lying around your house that you could use?

Or maybe you don’t have a no-working-sink-in-the-laundry-room dilemma and you can just use your laundry room sink for one of its intended purposes.

Spoiled rotten brat.

Sorry, I’m just jealous.

Maybe I should fix the sink.

About organizedbyjenn

Busy wife and mother of 7 children; grew up in Oregon, currently lives in Utah. Loves the outdoors, organizing, crafting, running, and eating chocolate
This entry was posted in Cleaning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to soaking clothes

  1. Lorinda says:

    Jen, what about dyeing clothes? Would that ruin the bowl?
    Lorinda

    • jennstest says:

      Good question! I’m guessing that if you used a stainless steel bowl it should be fine. Or, perhaps a bowl that’s not white; it might hide anything that might stain. Good luck & let me know what you find out. Jenn

  2. Kari says:

    I have a bucket for this purpose. It is it’s sole purpose.

    Heaven help Matt when he used the bucket for CONSTRUCTION! 😉

Leave a Reply

