thinking ahead

We’re going on vacation soon.

I know, big whoop-di-do. I’m sure you’re going on vacation, too.

‘Cause that’s what you do during the summer. At least a lot of people do.

Anyway, guess what else I’m doing?

I’m making a list, checking it twice. But I’m not worried about who’s been naughty or nice.

That’s Santa’s job.

And he’s way more high-tech than I am.

My list has to do with going on vacation. See, I sometimes forget things. Important things like cell phone chargers, baby monitors, medicine, etc. And then when I’m far away from home, I remember that I forgot.

Does that sentence even work? I remember that I forgot. Sounds good to me.

So I start making lists long before I start packing. I either do it on my computer, palm, or on a piece of paper. And as I think of things I don’t want to forget, I write them down immediately. That way I won’t forget.

If I were to wait until packing day thinking, “Oh, I’ll remember that. It’s important enough. How could I forget that?” then guess what?

I will forget. It’s just the nature of the beast. Whether I like it or not, I just can’t remember everything.

Plus, it frees up the brain to store other information.

See what I mean?

Anyway . . .

Even if you’re just going on some day trips this summer, start making lists of things you don’t want to forget that you think you’ll never forget. I mean, who goes to the zoo and doesn’t bring the camera because they forgot it?

I’m sure that’s never happened to any of you.

Make a list! Packing will so much easier and faster if you don’t have to try to remember everything as you’re doing it.

Yes, I speak from experience.

About organizedbyjenn

Busy wife and mother of 7 children; grew up in Oregon, currently lives in Utah. Loves the outdoors, organizing, crafting, running, and eating chocolate
This entry was posted in Organizing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to thinking ahead

  1. Erna Blackburn says:

    Jenn, this is so true. Wished I followed it more! You are a peach! (not literally of course, you know!!!)

Leave a Reply

