chores – part 3

Ready to move on? I’ve definitely given you all plenty of time to incorporate CHORES – part 1 and CHORES – part 2.

Did you do what I challenged you to do? Did you not only make a list of chores, but did you assign them a day and then break them down into more manageable pieces?

What are your thoughts? Gimme feedback! “I need, I need!” (name that movie)

So it’s time for the next part I’m ingeniously calling “CHORES – part 3”. How do I come up with these amazing names?

Bathrooms
Who likes cleaning the bathroom? (show of hands, please)

Image posted by wesm12

I don’t. I hate it. Yes, hate. I love a clean bathroom, but I don’t want to be the one to get it to that clean state.

I want someone else to do it. I would rather clean a huge, disgusting kitchen than tackle a bathroom.

How do I get over that?

I don’t.

But what I can do is break it down into smaller steps. I know I could just suck it up and clean the darn thing, but I already know that doesn’t work with me. Not with the bathroom anyway.

I’ve already explained how I break the bathroom chores for the kids down into smaller steps. Well, I do the same thing for myself, except it’s over the course of several days.

Yes – I get to make those kinds of decisions! Isn’t that grand?

So on one day I clean the sink. The next day I do the toilet, the next day the mirror…and so on until it’s all sparkly. Then I do it again. It’s small steps. Baby steps. And I often ask my husband to do just one thing before he goes to bed. He doesn’t have a problem with that because I’m not asking him to clean the entire bathroom.

Breaking things down works for kids and husbands. Trust me.

Bedroom
For me, when my bedroom is a mess, if I make my bed then my whole room almost instantly feels cleaner. It’s amazing. Try it.

Then I tackle the clothes lying around. Then I tackle everything else.

Kitchen
I explained what I do to clean my kitchen back HERE. And it makes it so easy.

Now remember, in all of this you have, have, have to use your timer. Stop when it goes off and take a break. Then go back to it.

Okay, off you go.

About organizedbyjenn

Busy wife and mother of 7 children; grew up in Oregon, currently lives in Utah. Loves the outdoors, organizing, crafting, running, and eating chocolate
This entry was posted in Cleaning and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

