classic example

Remember when I talked about school papers and projects and art – oh my!? And how I don’t keep the big, the bulky, or the smelly? More on that here and here as well.

Well, here’s a classic example.

The Bug Collection
When is the last time your child had to do a bug collection? The last one I did was way back in high school, some 20+ years ago. Holy cow – I’m getting old!

But I don’t remember mine smelling.

Maybe I’ve just blocked it out of my memory. Or maybe I was so awesome that my bugs just didn’t smell. Or maybe I liked the smell so much that it didn’t bother me.

Oh well. It doesn’t really matter, because this one smelled. So gross. And I’m not even squeamish around bugs and insects. But the smell. Bleck!

Grant did a great job on his collection. He worked hard. He stayed up late and got up early to finish it on time. I was proud of him for putting forth such an effort.

But that doesn’t mean we’re keeping the thing.

That’s why I take pictures. And I put them in their school books I make at the end of the year.

And they’re OK with it and I’m so OK with it.

This is one memory I don’t want to remember by its smell.

And neither does Grant.

About organizedbyjenn

Busy wife and mother of 7 children; grew up in Oregon, currently lives in Utah. Loves the outdoors, organizing, crafting, running, and eating chocolate
This entry was posted in Back to school, Organizing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to classic example

  1. Kari says:

    You’re not going to take Jan’s suggestion and pass it on from kid to kid? lol

Leave a Reply

