sometimes…no, daily

I’d love to say that sometimes my house gets messy.

But that would be a lie.

The truth is: my house gets messy every day.

Every. Single. Day.

It’s kind of annoying, really. I don’t understand why it can’t stay clean for an entire day.

And then I remember that I have a gaggle of kids. Yes, a whole gaggle of them! They’re everywhere!

But they’re also extremely adorable. And I’m thankful I have a gaggle of kids.

But what to do about the messy house?

#1. Take a deep breath
It’s OK. Really. You’re not a horrible person if your house is messy. I promise. Keep it in the proper perspective. There is something to be said for order and cleanliness, for sure, but it’s not the end of the world if your house is messy.

#2. Set your timer
How on earth does this keep coming up? Let me tell you, and keep telling you, and keep telling you – I will NEVER, EVER, EVER tire of reminding you to use a timer. Never. Ever.

That’s just standard with me.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it a thousand times again: timers keep you focused. They liberate you to stop what you’re doing when they go off. Timers are, by far, the best tool I can offer you. Timers are a secret weapon and I’m trying to make everyone aware of their power.

I understand that then they won’t be secret.

But that’s a risk I’m willing to take.

So set your timer for 5, 10 or 15 minutes.

#3. Pretend you’re walking into your home
I can’t tell you how much this helps me. I try to visualize what people see when they first come in. That’s the room I start with.

For me, it’s my living room. And there’s a direct line of sight into my dining room. I use that term “dining room” very loosely here. It just makes me feel like I have a fancier house, so please indulge me.

So I start in my living room, setting my timer for 15 minutes (I like that amount of time – not too short, not too long). I pick things up, put stuff away, tidy up. If I finish that room before the timer goes off, then I start on the dining room.

Choose the room that will make you feel the best when it’s clean.

Then go do it.

#4. Focus on what you did do
I think this is often overlooked. When the timer goes off, take a look at what you accomplished. Don’t look at what’s still messy; save that for another timer session.

Look around. How does your room of choice look?

If it helps, snap a quick before and after picture so you can really see the progress. I think before and after pictures are super fun.

#5. Repeat
Pete and Repeat were walking along a river. Pete fell in. Who was left?

Repeat.

OK.

Pete and Repeat were walking along . . .

Get the idea? Do this over and over throughout the day and you’ll definitely notice a difference.

Send me your before and after pictures. I’d love to see them!

About organizedbyjenn

Busy wife and mother of 7 children; grew up in Oregon, currently lives in Utah. Loves the outdoors, organizing, crafting, running, and eating chocolate
This entry was posted in Cleaning, Organizing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

