what’s not to love?

You tell me. What’s not to love? I’ll give you a hint: it has nothing to do with this darling picture of my son.

Confused?

Alright, I’ll explain what I mean. After all, I’m a pretty nice person.

What’s the first thing that popped into your mind when you read the words ‘what’s not to love?’

Hopefully it wasn’t a person (yikes). Like your spouse, boyfriend, child, co-worker, boss, friend, sister, etc.

If it was, I’m not going to go there.

There are a few more qualified people out there that can help you with that. But just a few.

OK, back to my explanation: this month is all about love, right? So what’s not to love about a month that’s all about love?

Listen to this song by Ingrid Michaelson, titled Everybody.

Go ahead. Listen now. I’ll wait…

Everyone wants to be loved and everyone wants to love. It’s true. Well, what about your things?

Yes, things, possessions, stuff, trinkets, knickknacks, furniture, decor and so on?

Doesn’t it want to be loved? To be used? To be valued?

Oh – it doesn’t have feelings?

Hmmm. Let’s pretend we’re in the movie Toy Story okay? And let’s pretend our stuff has feelings (go with me here). Let’s pretend that when we’re not looking, our stuff talks about whether or not it’s loved.

How do you feel about that?

It’s okay if you’re a little uneasy; your stuff is, too.

It wants to be loved, used and valued. Trust me. I know. I’m a Stuff Whisperer. And I crack myself up, too.

So this is the challenge for February, the month of love:

surround yourself with things that you love.

This isn’t a license to go shopping, by the way. It would be fun if it were, but you have plenty of things in your house already.

Get rid of things that you don’t love. The toys in Toy Story didn’t want to be in a yard sale, and it may be hard for you to part with some things, but the toys were sure happy when someone loved them. Someone else will benefit from your donations.

I want you to look around your home and pick just one thing, every day, that you no longer love. Give it to someone else, donate it or throw it in the trash. And I want you to post in the comments what those things are…email me pictures if you’d like at organizedbyjenn@gmail.com. I’d love to see what kinds of things no longer fill you with love.

I’m going to do it, too. And I’ll post pictures of my things as well.

And at the end of the month, we’ll all have 29 (yes, it’s leap year) fewer things cluttering up our homes.

What’s not to love about that?

About organizedbyjenn

Busy wife and mother of 7 children; grew up in Oregon, currently lives in Utah. Loves the outdoors, organizing, crafting, running, and eating chocolate
This entry was posted in Cleaning, Holidays, Organizing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to what’s not to love?

  1. Pingback: clutter and repurposing | organized by jenn

  2. Pingback: happy leap day | organized by jenn

Leave a Reply

