are we like veruca salt?

Do you remember Veruca from Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory?

She’s a total spoiled brat and wants everything NOW! She sings, “Don’t care how, I want it now!” And then the egg-o-meter determines she’s a bad egg and she falls down the bad egg chute.

Remember her?

Are we like that?

No, I’m not trying to call you a spoiled brat. And I’m not saying that you’re going to go down the bad egg chute.

Well, maybe I am.

But just a little.

What’s up with this “I want it NOW” attitude? Why do we do this? I think another way of looking at it could be the all-or-nothing approach. If we don’t get what we want now then we’re not going to do it at all.

That’s what Veruca had – an all-or-nothing approach. She wanted everything when she wanted it, how she wanted it, oh – and she wanted it all now.

Why do so many of us take an all-or-nothing approach? And not just with organizing either.

Think about it.

We want to lose weight and think we have to get down to a ridiculous size pair of jeans in a matter of weeks. So we practically starve ourselves, lose the desire quickly because it’s too hard and get depressed. We want to be out of debt and yet continue to live our current lifestyle and then get frustrated that it takes so long to make any headway with our debt. We want a clean and organized house today. We want a perfect marriage but want it now.

Any of that sound familiar? I think it’s much more common than we care to admit. And what do we do when it doesn’t happen immediately?

We give up.

And then do nothing.

Because we have that all-or-nothing attitude. It’s silly, really.

We walk into a room that needs to be cleaned and organized, realize we can’t get it all done right now, turn around and walk back out.

And there the room sits. Nothing is done because we wanted it done now. And we knew we just couldn’t do it now.

Why is doing nothing the alternative?

I think one of the reasons is that we feel overwhelmed and don’t know where to start. Then we lose our patience with our spouse, our children and get upset at them for not cleaning up after themselves.

It still sounds like Veruca who sings, “And if I don’t get the things I am after, I’m going to scream.”

I know that’s not what we want it to be like. And especially in February, the month of love.

Corny, I know. But true.

Let’s ditch the all-or-nothing approach.

And I’ll show you how.

About organizedbyjenn

Busy wife and mother of 7 children; grew up in Oregon, currently lives in Utah. Loves the outdoors, organizing, crafting, running, and eating chocolate
This entry was posted in Cleaning, Organizing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to are we like veruca salt?

  1. Kari says:

    Veruca is one of my favorite characters. Matt and I will say to our kids her father’s quote, when they get particularly demanding, “Already Veruca, I’ll go out and get you one by morning.” And they know there is no way they are getting it anytime soon. And thinking about her has changed my attitude about alot of things. Sometimes I get impatient, but I know that I need to have more patience. But patience is tough. 🙂

  2. Pingback: veruca salt syndrome | organized by jenn

Leave a Reply

