approach #3

I’ve been so busy lately! So busy that my blog has taken a back seat.

But never fear – I am still here! And I want to talk about Approach #3.

This one is my favorite, I think. It’s my favorite because during the day (except for summer) I’m pretty much the only one here who can clean. I have two little guys at home, but they spend their time doing things like this:

Don’t worry. No children were harmed in the writing of this post.

I’m teaching Ian – the one doing the tangling – to do a few simple things here and there and as he gets older, he’ll definitely join the ranks of cleaners. But I do Approach #3 mostly when both of them – Ian and Luke – are napping and out of the way.

So here we go:

1. Set your timer for 5, 10, or 15 minutes.
I realize this part doesn’t change, no matter what approach you use. And that’s because the timer is invaluable. Invaluable. So don’t skip this part.

2. Start at the doorway, working clockwise.
Have with you your boxes or bags for trash, things that go in another room, give-away, etc. Tackle the first area to your left. Slowly work clockwise around the room, putting things in your bags/boxes as you go.

3. Take a break.
When the timer goes off, stop immediately and put away and throw away all the things in your boxes/bags. Take the box or bag with stuff to give away and put it in your car or wherever it is that you put stuff to give away. Then set the timer and do something you love to do.

4. Repeat until the room is clean.
I know this process may take hours, days, even weeks if the room is horribly cluttered. And that’s okay. The point is that you are doing something, which is better than nothing.

Remember that.

Something is better than nothing.

How do you eat an elephant?

source: goafrica.about.com

One bite at a time, my friends. One bite at a time.

So there you have it. Three approaches. Three different things to try. Three different ways to motivate yourself and your family. Three different ways to clean.

There is power in three’s. I just know it.

About organizedbyjenn

Busy wife and mother of 7 children; grew up in Oregon, currently lives in Utah. Loves the outdoors, organizing, crafting, running, and eating chocolate
This entry was posted in Cleaning, Organizing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to approach #3

  1. Candy S says:

    I love it. I will definitely try the timer… 🙂

Leave a Reply

