happy 17th anniversary

Seventeen years ago today Curtis and I were married.

Look how cute we are! (These pictures are all done using instagram, by the way. I love instagram)

As I was thinking about today, I thought back to our very first anniversary. My, how different things were then.

We were young, thin and care-free.

Love this picture of us.

Our anniversary was such a big deal. I had saved up our money for months so I could buy Curtis a very expensive gift – a 10-piece LeCreuset set.

Curtis had bought me a microwave oven. We still have both of those gifts, too. They’ve lasted a long, long time.

Fast forward 17 years.

We’re rounder in many unflattering places compared to 17 years ago. We have gray hair and even some wrinkles that we didn’t have before. Hopefully we’re a little wiser as well.

This year I bought Curtis a DVD and he bought me a potted plant for our yard.

They’re a far cry from the hundreds of dollars we spent on gifts for our first anniversary.

And I’m glad. Because that’s not what matters. It’s never been what matters.

Happy Anniversary, Curtis! I hope our next 17 years are better than the last 17 years.

Love you.

About organizedbyjenn

Busy wife and mother of 7 children; grew up in Oregon, currently lives in Utah. Loves the outdoors, organizing, crafting, running, and eating chocolate
This entry was posted in Holidays, Just for Fun and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to happy 17th anniversary

  1. Andrea Retke says:

    Congratulations!!! Your incredible craftiness is always inspiring :-}! You two are beautiful and I appreciate these pictures (since I have never seen them)!!! I wish you a magnificent anniversary!! ❤ you!

    Drea

  2. Sort It says:

    Congratulations! 🙂 Happy Anniversary 🙂

  3. jarvisfamily says:

    I haven’t seen your wedding pictures in so long and now that I am looking at them I can’t believe how much Grant looks just like Curtis when he was younger!
    Happy Anniversary!

  4. jamyrbz says:

    that made me cry a little, congratulations to two of the greatest people I know!

Leave a Reply

