bladder issues

Are you perhaps scared by the title of this post? Do you think you’re at the wrong place because you thought this was an organizational blog? Do you fear for what I might type next?

Good. That was my plan. To lure you in carefully . . .

Just kidding. It wasn’t part of any plan. I just did it naturally.

So, bladder issues – it’s not what you think. There are other bladders besides the ones inside of your body. Honest.

Think Camelbak.

source: trailjournals.com

Does that change your perspective just a smidge?

Those are the bladders I’m talking about. And the ones inside your body? Not interested in discussing those at all. You may all breathe a sigh of relief now.

So I’m talking about water bladders for hydration packs.

Do you have some? Do you have a daypack or camelbak or fanny pack or something like that?

Do you ever go hiking? Biking? Boating? Anything outside-ing?

If you do, then you’re probably familiar with bladders. The hydration kind outside of your body, not the ones inside your body.

So after a day of some exciting outdoor activity where you’ve used your hydration pack, you come home, empty out your pack including the bladder. You put things away, right?

You dump any remaining water out of your bladder, but then you’re left with a wet bladder.

Man – this post could get really funny right about now. But I’ll refrain.

So how do you dry out your bladder? (snicker)

I’ve tried a couple of different methods.

Normally I take the bladder, a cup and a butter knife and rig it so the bladder is standing straight up so the air can circulate and dry it out that way.

The downside to this method is that it takes up counter space, which is at a premium in my kitchen. It also uses up our favorite glasses. But it works well, so I deal with it.

This year since we had a clothesline up during our broken dryer phase, I hung mine out on the line to dry.

I thought it would be the fastest way to dry it out. But you know what? It didn’t turn out to be the case. I’m not sure if it was the dew in the morning or what, but it took awhile to dry and I wasn’t impressed.

Now that we have a working dryer (yes – all better. Thanks for asking.), I thought I’d try putting it in the dryer.

I first put it in by itself on fluff air. You know – all air – no heat.

That didn’t do a thing.

So then I put it in with other clothes. Better. But still not totally dry.

So I put it in again with the next batch and it came out perfectly dry.

I think I found my favorite method. The dryer. It may take 2 cycles, but it doesn’t take up counter space, glasses or butter knives. I have to use the dryer anyway so I might as well throw it in with it.

As for the tube that connects the bladder to the mouthpiece, I always hang it over the shower curtain rod to dry. It works just fine.

So here’s a question for you then: What have you done to solve your bladder issues? Please keep your responses G-rated. Thank you.

About organizedbyjenn

Busy wife and mother of 7 children; grew up in Oregon, currently lives in Utah. Loves the outdoors, organizing, crafting, running, and eating chocolate
This entry was posted in Organizing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

