why hello there

Where have you been? I mean, really. It’s been over two weeks since you posted anything and three weeks since you posted anything organized-related.

What is wrong with you?!!

Oh wait – I should be talking to myself. It’s not your fault. Sorry about that. I just wanted to blame someone other than myself.

Fine. I’ll stop.

I’ve been busy. Super busy. Super duper busy. I’m sure you all have been as well. I’ve been painting, painting, painting, cleaning, organizing, painting, moving furniture, painting and making Wall Files. Oh – and stopping catastrophes like this one:

(No children were harmed in the making of this post)

And this one:

Yep – I’ve been busy. Plus add in the normal day-to-day stuff of raising a family (laundry, dishes, other chores, bills, homework, shopping, cooking, yard work, diaper changing, potty training, dealing with strong-willed children, service in my church, canning peaches, etc.) plus soccer season has been in full swing (recreational just ended but I have 2 in competition and that’s still going on) and you’ve got full pandemonium going on here.

Oh and did I mention that my husband has been working crazy overtime? He gets home late and still has to do work from home until he goes to bed at night.

So I’m pretty much on my own.

Is that a good enough excuse for not posting in a while? It’s good enough for me.

Now – back to organizing. In my last organizing post I talked about how getting ready for school in the morning is going for you and what we can do to make the mornings easier.

I hope that the few suggestions are helping.

But I forgot the most important thing – you!

Yes, you! Are you prepared in the morning? Are you up before the kids? Are you dressed? Have you signed papers or checked homework that needs to be signed or checked?

I find that when I’m prepared, my children are much more prepared. When I’m up before they are, it’s easier to get them going. It’s really hard to manage the morning from your bed. I know. I’ve tried it.

You don’t need to be a mom to do this, either. Are you going to school? Working? You still need to prepare. No excuses.

So what are you doing to help you in the mornings?

Guess what helps the most? Preparing the night before. And that includes going to bed.

image source: tiptopten.com

What?! Going to bed? Yes – you need to go to bed and get some sleep.

I also struggle with that one. But doesn’t she look so peaceful? Sigh.

What? That’s not reality? Well, maybe this one is then:

image source: ridiculouslife.net

Or this one:

image source: funny-potato.com

Make a plan the night before. Get those papers signed the night before. Get your clothes ready the night before. If you just can’t get dressed before you take the kids to school, head off to work or school, at least know where your shoes and purse are.

And perhaps a bra.

It’s the little things that count.

About organizedbyjenn

Busy wife and mother of 7 children; grew up in Oregon, currently lives in Utah. Loves the outdoors, organizing, crafting, running, and eating chocolate
This entry was posted in Back to school, Organizing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to why hello there

  1. Sort It says:

    LOL. I thought you were talking about me for a bit there. Phew! Yes, being prepared is key. I think it’s also about being realistic about how long things will take. And trust me, if you’re considering hitting the snooze button for the 4th time, you are likely highly underestimating… Thanks for the laugh! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Make A List, and Check It Twice | Sort It

  3. Kari says:

    A bra is totally optimal in my book. 😉

  4. Becky says:

    Love the post, Jenn! You are amazing–you do so much. Can’t wait to see what you are painting, etc.

Leave a Reply

