sleepy time little flowers

It’s time to put your flower beds to sleep. I don’t care if they protest and want to stay up.

Do you let your kids stay up if they protest? I hope not. Everyone needs a good nap, including your flowers.

Around here you’ll have to either wait for the snow to melt or move some of it, but having a little on your flower beds is just fine for this.

Now, I’m no expert, but I have friends who are pretty smart about flower beds. And this is what they told me to do. So listen up!

#1. Rake your leaves
If you don’t have leaves in your yard, borrow from the neighbors. That’s what I did. Thanks, neighbors!

They’ll love you even more if you rake them up yourself and haul them into your own yard.

That’s what I didn’t do. Sorry neighbors!

But in my defense my neighbor was already raking the leaves up. She was practically done by the time I asked her. And I had some of my boys go over with large, black leaf bags and fill ’em up.

After they fussed about going over I couldn’t get them to leave because they were having so much fun with the leaves. Leave leaves – they just couldn’t do it.

Ahem.

Anyway, get some leaves. If you have a mulcher that will mulch the leaves, so much the better. I don’t. And that’s just the way it is.

#2. Spread the leaves
Take all those leaves and put them on your flower beds. If you already have perennials growing in your beds, put the leaves around them, not on them.

#3. Buy some crap.
I mean manure. I could’ve used a different word but didn’t. That’s not how I roll.

You’re welcome.

Please buy it – don’t do the unthinkable, which I won’t even begin to talk about.

#4. Spread the manure
You want to put the manure on top of the leaves to keep them from blowing off. How much you use is up to you, but about an inch or two is fine.

In my picture there’s just a sprinkling of it on so I could show you that it was on top of the leaves.

#5. Kiss your flowers good night
If you actually do this, please send me a picture! I would love to see you kissing your flowers nighty-night.

That’s it. Now your flower beds are all tucked in for the winter. During those cold months, the leaves will decompose and mix with the manure, which will do fabulous things for your flower beds by the time spring rolls around.

Good night. Sleep tight. Don’t let the bedbugs bite!

About organizedbyjenn

Busy wife and mother of 7 children; grew up in Oregon, currently lives in Utah. Loves the outdoors, organizing, crafting, running, and eating chocolate
This entry was posted in Gardening, Organizing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to sleepy time little flowers

Leave a Reply

