the snow is talking

If you live anywhere near where I live, you’ll hear the groans of men, women and children everywhere wishing the winter would end and spring would begin.

You see, it’s snowing again.

While that’s completely normal for us, add in the fact that our temperatures, until quite recently, have been abnormally low (yes, even negative) and the fact that we live in a valley which means the air gets trapped by our beautiful mountains and turns dangerously yucky, it’s not unexpected that people want the snow and cold to go away.

Snow, snow, go away, come again another day. Or season.

But I’m going to look at it differently. Don’t hate me because of it, or just hate me quietly because I don’t do well with people who hate me. I cry. So if you want to make me cry, hate me publicly. Just know that it’s not a nice thing to do.

I love the snow. In fact I love all kinds of stormy weather as long as it’s not life-threatening (so that would mean I don’t love hurricanes, tornadoes, earthquakes, etc.) Yes, I also love spring, summer and fall. Fall is my favorite season, actually.

But this weather is keeping me focused on getting the inside of my house in order. And that’s a good thing because once the weather turns warm then I’ll want to be outside and the inside of my house won’t get attention. I have so many projects waiting to be done when the weather turns warm. Yes, the inside of my house will get neglected indeed.

And maybe, just maybe, Mother Nature knows that we need to get the insides cleaned out before we can get the outsides cleaned out. (If that means something deeper to you than just cleaning your house, run with it.) And maybe that’s why it’s snowing more.

Indulge me here folks, I know that’s not why it’s snowing. I’m just trying to help you feel better about it.

So take the opportunity, if I dare use that word, of being sort of house-bound and tackle that pile of papers or messy closet or just one shelf or one folder or one room.

I mean, if you’re going to be in your house anyway, you might as well get something done. And I don’t mean getting caught up on all your favorite shows. Improve your situation by getting rid of junk, trash and clutter. Surround the inside of your house with only the things you love and use.

Yesterday Dana and Noah spent some time cleaning the boys’ bedroom downstairs instead of playing. No, I did not bribe or threaten them with certain death if they didn’t. And you know what? They felt so good about themselves at what they had accomplished. They improved their situation and their mother gushed with adoration.

And gratitude. Because I’d been putting off that room.

Win win.

basketball net covered in snow

Thank you, snow. For helping me tackle my inside clutter just a little bit more.

About organizedbyjenn

Busy wife and mother of 7 children; grew up in Oregon, currently lives in Utah. Loves the outdoors, organizing, crafting, running, and eating chocolate
This entry was posted in Cleaning, Organizing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to the snow is talking

  1. Daisies Girl says:

    Love your positive, upbeatness. Thanks for making see things a little differently. You are Amazing!!

Leave a Reply

