ridiculous

Now that school is out, I have one question for you: Did your children bring home ridiculous amounts of school papers?

Yeah, mine, too.

It seems like every year, at the end of the school year, that’s when the kids start bringing home tons of stuff. It’s normal, right?

Well, the last couple of days were even worse. It was so bad this year that I even took a picture.

See what I mean? That’s one of my kids’ pile of papers. Just one. And it’s just from one day. I have 4 in school. So multiply that pile by four.

This can totally be overwhelming.

I’m overwhelmed.

Because it’s not like everything else around you stops so you can deal with the papers. Nope. Life just keeps on rollin’. So the papers usually end up sitting in a pile for weeks or months, cluttering up the countertop, table, desk, chair, bedroom floor, etc.

Anyone else here with me?

Thought so.

Guess how to deal with it?

SET YOUR TIMER!

Don’t roll your eyes at me. I’m serious about the timer thing.

Don’t trust me? Don’t believe me that it works?

Have you tried it?

Set your timer for just 10 – 15 minutes. Even 5 minutes is better than nothing. Tackle that pile.

Get your kids involved. Sit down with them and really look at their stuff. They’ll feel important and you’ll be showing that you care.

And after looking at it, ask them what they want to do with it. If they don’t have any ideas, suggest some.

Click HERE, HERE and HERE to see what I do. You’re gonna love it!

About organizedbyjenn

Busy wife and mother of 7 children; grew up in Oregon, currently lives in Utah. Loves the outdoors, organizing, crafting, running, and eating chocolate
This entry was posted in Organizing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to ridiculous

  1. Kari says:

    I am embarrassed to admit that I have a box of papers to file. Between all the construction and remodeling, I’ve just moved it from room to room. The pile in increasing too. I have a plan, it’s just taking longer than I thought. I hate that box. And I hate the piles in my kids rooms. The ones they won’t let me get rid of. I admit I sneak in and throw stuff away. See? I’m great with stuff that doesn’t belong to me. (I’m a kidding, kind of. I don’t get rid of things that don’t belong to me.)

Leave a comment